Thorp and Sailor's Grave Board

How much do you tip tattoo artists?

BDx13 - 6-14-2006 at 11:53 AM

A friend of a friend is paying $800 for a half-sleeve. What would you tip for something like that? How much have you tipped for your pieces in the past?

XHonusWagnerX - 6-14-2006 at 12:00 PM

I had NO clue what to tip because Im very new to the tattoo world. My first piece was 5 sessions. I gave him the exact ammount he wanted each time until it was done. At the end of the last session I gave him a tip of $70. I thought that was rather high, but I did it because he had given me money off and one session for free because he canceled some apointments. So basicly the piece was $350 and I gave him $70 as a tip. This was for my first tattoo, the 2 girls from the Strangers in Paradise comic.

For the Slapshot mask it was 3 sessions the first 2 sessions he said $100 each and thats what I gave him. At the end of the 3rd session he said $125 and I gave him all that I had with me, which was $140. I thought it would only be another $100 so I was a little short, but I dont think thats TO bad of a tip.

Maybe I can learn if I did well or not based on some answers from the more experieiced tattooed people on the board!

newbreedbrian - 6-14-2006 at 12:14 PM

depends on the situation (how many hours, who it is, price, etc). don't think i've ever given less than $25 or more than $40

XnMeX - 6-14-2006 at 12:22 PM

For my first tattoo I had no idea that you were to tip the artist. Good thing my girl was smart enoguh to know. I can't remember how much the tips were since I didn't pay for either of my tats.

serenity - 6-14-2006 at 12:42 PM

the thoughts here on tipping your artist is not the same as in the states. i asked a couple of people, and they said that they never tips. they say that spreading the word is tipping enough.

upyerbum - 6-14-2006 at 12:42 PM